Picture
Summarize comedian Louis CK's argument against cell phones.  What do you think of his point? Are his criticisms valid?  How might his argument inform a our discussion about "The Real"?


Have you ever tried "just sitting", rather than jumping on the cell phone? If you have, describe the experience and how it felt.  If you have never tried, describe the impulses that drive you to distractions offered by our smart phones.  

Stefanie Jadidi
10/7/2013 07:44:58 am

We are distracted by our cell phones everyday. People avoid eye contact in an elevator by looking down at their phones. Everywhere you walk, you see people with their cell phones glued to their faces without bothering to look up and not paying attention to their surroundings. The majority of students sitting around campus are on their phones instead of simply enjoying the sunshine. On more than one occasion someone has walked straight into me because they didn’t bother to glance at where they were walking. We avoid human interaction and emotion by occupying our minds and feelings with temporary virtual stimulation. Two nights ago, I was lying in bed trying to go to sleep. I usually reach for my phone and look things up on the internet to help me fall asleep. I decided not to. Instead, I laid there and started thinking about different things: school, my future, being single, why I feel so lonely at times. And then it happened. The topic of loneliness filled my mind and it led to a childhood memory. When I was younger I was left at home alone nearly every night. I would look out the living room window and cry out to every car that passed by hoping it was my mother coming home. I felt utterly alone. Instead of blocking out what I was really feeling, I started sobbing. My chest hurt and I was overcome with emotion. I let myself feel the pain and lived in that moment. I allowed myself to be sad. When it was over, I was comfortably numb. Before, I would try to block out whatever I was feeling or thinking and replace it with Facebook posts or online shopping. The distraction would prevent me from feeling whatever it was that I needed to feel. But this time I let it all out. It felt amazing to feel so alive and vulnerable. I may have felt more alone than I ever have in a long time, but it was a real moment in my life.

10/7/2013 01:39:45 pm

Louis CK's the comedian argues that Human being seeks for human interaction in order to live peacefully, stating that it is a need that composes the human therefore no one can be complete without companionship because it is the key to love and affection which is necessary to develop as kid and adult. The comedian states that in order to avoid loneliness people tends to replace human companionship with modern technology using cell phones, in order to in contact with another person because it is human nature to feel and be loved by other in order to be happy. It is also true that sitting at a certain place for many hours without interacting affect psychologically causing desperation or in most cases people gets bored and pulls out the cell phone in order to avoid such negative feelings because it does not benefit the person but deteriorates his/her emotions. I had been in similar situations. Whenever I got to the doctor I feel the same way I feel alone even though I’m around people I still feel weird because I do not know them and I pull out the phone to text people in order to maintain my mood otherwise ill end up bored, irritated or desperate because interacting with those people that I know and love me is part of my life and development as human being. Cell phones are today's "empathy boxes" a human extension in which people relays on in order to express how they feel but the truth is that although technology is good, at this point lack of communication has generated therefore I believe they are a major factor that contributes to vanish human interaction.

10/8/2013 02:13:28 pm

Louis CK’s argument against cell phones is that they allow children to ignore reality. He says they do not experience other kids’ emotions, as well as their own, when they are hiding behind a screen – they do not get to experience, firsthand, what effect their actions and words have on others. As a result, they live in an alternate universe where they can do whatever they want without consequence. In other words, they become spoiled.
I think Louis CK’s criticisms are valid. Although you may get some backlash when you text someone something mean, or just not that nice, you will not get as big of a consequence in result. Therefore, you will not be as equipped to live in the ‘real world’ as you might have if you did not grow up on social media.
This segues into how the above argument describes ‘The Real’. Obviously, as already mentioned, Louis CK views ‘The Real’ as things that only happen in person, rather than online or in cyberspace. Though some would say reality is in the eye of the person who perceives it, I think reality is also in the eye of the person who receives it. In other words, if your actions have consequences on others, they are real – whether you do not see these consequences personally.
I have tried ‘just sitting’, as a matter of fact. I was about to read my new book, Doctor Sleep by Stephen King, and I almost picked up my cellphone to check my text messages and notifications; then I thought, ‘no, I want to fully enjoy my new book!’ So I ignored my phone and sat, relaxing for a few minutes. Eventually, I began reading; I got lost in the book for hours and forgot where I was. When I ‘awoke’ from my trance and was back in my room, I just sat and then made some tea. About twenty minutes later (and a few hours after, including the book reading), I remembered my phone. I felt trapped, but also like I had been free, if only briefly.


Roario Vazquez
10/9/2013 02:36:26 am

Louis Ck’s argument against cellphones is that kids are losing the empathy of having a real conversation with people, and they aren’t being respectful when they converse with others, for example several of them don’t look at people in the eyes when they talk to them, but instead they text and talk. He also thinks that cell phones are toxic since they are time consuming and people want to avoid the feeling of loneliness by using their cellphones or other electronic devices. In addition, he states that people try to avoid as well the feeling sadness, for as soon as they feel sad they try to start a conversation with others through texting. His criticism is valid since the majority of people have an electronic device which makes them feel less lonely and they can easily communicate with others through the internet in social websites. His argument is that of Iran in Do Androids Dream since she realized that she was always being controlled by the dialer, until she decided to just let the feeling of sadness over take her and feel something real. In my experience, I’ve actually had moments alone without the reach of an electronic device, and its something interesting since one has the time to think and reflect about the past or think about the future.

Michael Ferreras
10/9/2013 11:21:25 am

Louis CK believes that the use of cell phones impairs our connection with our emotions. As humans he believes we are afraid to experience true emotions such as sadness associated with loneliness. Because of this we are constantly on our phones in situations that do not even require the use of a phone. Also he mentions that we would rather risk our lives as well as the lives of others in order to not have the feeling of loneliness. I agree with his argument because of the fact that I do experience many people on their phone, not paying full attention to the things they are doing. Normal human beings are not really wired to multitask effectively so crossing a street while one the phone we are only giving half attention to each action. In my experience of trying to multitask I usually end up failing. At most the attempt resulted in a traffic citation at which point I have learned my lesson.
Louis CK does make a compelling argument about people not wanting to feel sad and alone. I personally hate the felling and recently I had to undergo those feelings and it was not the best feeling. In the past I would constantly be on my phone but now I have no real reason to being on the device for more than 20 minutes at a time. As for just trying to sit, I admit it was hard at first but eventually the feeling set in and I was able to do it with ease. Eventually people would need to just sit from time to time because not only does it affect us socially but our health as well. Too much technology is, although convenient, but harmful as well and we need to lessen the usage and ultimately accept that we will be alone at times and we cannot rely heavily on technology.
The fact that we are so tech-savy, we are further taken away from what is real. So what is reality for us? We all, if not most, have some sort of social media. With each post we are creating a different persona online which we would not honestly admit in the real world. As humans we tent to detach ourselves from the things most important to us and the traditions we work so hard to try and up keep; we are slowly fading away from all of them. In reality we may use the social media because our own lives are not what we expect them to be so we create some we are not. If this trend continues we as humans would probably not be able to distinguish what is real or not because our true identities would be living in the virtual world rather than the physical world. In all realness this is the saddest progression we would make in spite of all the advancements we made as human beings.

Kelly Hidalgo
10/9/2013 12:44:40 pm

Comedian Louis CK argues that he will not get his kids cellphones because it will not allow them to connect with others and it will hinder their ability to feel empathy. He states that humans are afraid to be alone with their own thoughts or feelings of sadness, which he calls "the forever empty," and for that reason they are constantly distracting themselves with their cellphones. He uses himself as the example and recalls a time when he was driving and feeling alone. Instead of distracting himself with his cellphone he chose to allow himself to experience his feelings of sadness and what he found at the other end was a rush of happiness.

I agree with Louis point of view. People can probably go their entire lives running from their feelings simply by staying distracted. Its easy in today's society with a multitude of devices and social media forums. He also makes a valid point in not wanting his children to get caught up in this way of living but rather teach them the importance of experiencing what is real.

Most recently we have been discussing the real and what it means. I feel that Louis CK has a good grasp of what it is. He expresses it as our own feelings and our feelings for others. What we can authentically respond to emotionally is real.

I have opted to turn off my cell phone or simply leave the house without it so that I can be alone with my thoughts. I'm very aware of how powerful of a distraction it is. Even if I'm not talking or text messaging someone I can play with the apps, my calendar, settings, etc. and waste literally hours. Going without my phone feels like a weight is lifted and imaginary strings are untied. Its a feeling of freedom. Its silly that it feels that way but having my phone and not having it are distinctly different.

Gladys Pereira
10/10/2013 06:19:57 am

Louis CK's argument about him being against cellphones is valid because now people do not pay attention what is happening around them. They are all up on their cellphones texting or playing games. And that is very awful because thats the reason their are so many accidents on the news about someone who is texting while driving. For example someone is driving and they receive a text message of course they won't ignore it the would look at the phone and see who it is and by not paying atention to the road they have an accident and that cost them or someone else life. Louis CK has very excellent points about cellphone usage. Everyone in the world are on their phone. You can't have a conversation with someone because they will be on their cellphone texting. All of that of communicating is gone because what's so new is just texting and that's wrong. Sometimes I have the urge to be on my phone but when I don't I get myself occupied around the house cleaning moving urniture around that distracts me alot. Also doing my work from school keeps me occupied. The only time am on my phone is when am heading to school or after school but when am home my phone I just leave it on my bed and I just go on with my day around the house.

10/13/2013 05:00:28 pm

In my opinion, comedian Luis CK’s argument against cell phones makes a lot of sense. He brings out many interesting examples of what really happens in our society today specially with kids. Kids grow up thinking that they have to have the new smart phones or else they will not be cool around their peers. He was also right about parents saying that “all the other kids have it, why can’t my kid have it?” whatever he said was a fact; it almost feels like parents are out there for a competition of whose kid has a better phone. They want their kids to not stay away from anything that other kids have. Phones are really toxins for kids because they use most of their time using the phone not only for social media but they play games for hours on it. This causes eye problems and also psychological. Kids become aggressive because of the games and since they spend so much time on the phones they start having site problems. I know certain parents that buy cell phones for their kids just so the kids won’t bug them in anything. This brings us to “the real” parents don’t want to spend quality face to face time with their kids; instead they let them play on their phones and leave them alone. Not only kids and parents but people in general prefer communicating with cell phones (texting) rather than having a normal face to face communication. The reason why we are programed to do act this way is because it is easier to tell the person what they think about them when it is not face to face. There have been times for me when I want to just sit and have quality time to myself but somehow I jump on my phone for the most random reasons. For example, I might just sit there to watch TV and I decide to go on my phone to check my bank account or an email or text massage. This act happens unconsciously because we are so used to these gadgets that we almost can’t live without them. I think that we should just limit the use of these gadgets especially when we drive. Another example is when we are talking to people we seem to use our phone a lot. This act is very disrespectful because we don’t give the attention back to the person since we are so into our phones. Finally, we can make a better world for all of us if we understand to limit the use of all gadgets and enjoy the “real” life values.

10/14/2013 04:52:59 pm

In the video, the comedian Louis CK explains his opinion on cell phones being a very bad toy for children. Texting has become such a big thing nowadays that people do not understand how much of their lives they are losing. He emphasizes the missing empathy from these children. These children can text people or anonymous message another child and be very mean without having any consequences. Also as Louis explained, they do not see the look on the hurt child’s face to feel bad for what they have said or done. They act mean and in the end get a reword by feeling good about it. This is relevant to our reading of “the real” because of the missing empathy and emotion. These children are in a virtual world where they are slowly unable to understand what “the real” is.
I have never been in one position without having my cellphone in my hand texting my boyfriend, but I decided to try it. All day today I tried to be as phoneless as possible. It was very hard. I was always wondering what my boyfriend or my best-friend, Tatevik was doing when I was bored at the minute. It was very hard and I do not believe that I will try that again because I felt very lonely. In my car I do not text and drive because I am very much agents it but, I do have my music up loud and at every read like I do touch my phone to see if I have any messages from anyone important. After reading about this and watching the video I became much more aware of my actions and the actions of the people around me. To me it has become an eye catcher.

10/16/2013 10:31:36 am

Louis C.K. argues that parents (perhaps they themselves being avid cellphone users) have become unaware of consequences of allowing their children to have cellphones. He believes that cellphones are “toxic” to child development and they hinder a child’s social skills. Louis also notes that for most adults emotional development has been stunted by the use of cellphones. He uses personal experience to explain the difficult task of facing his own loneliness head on, rather than distracting himself with momentary diversion. After a brief moment of sadness and deep catharsis, he experiences a renewed sense of purpose and joy. He goes on to explain that most people fear that moment of sadness and would much rather opt for the cheap distraction.

I have had many moments when I just want to “disconnect” from my cellphone and from any social media sites that I use. I’m usually more dependent on my cellphone during my commute to school. My routine consists of putting my headphones on and replying to texts and instant messages coming from my friends. Before I know it. I’m in school and my commute seemed like it lasted about 5 minutes. Although, I know that it is great to be able to chat with my friends that live in other states, or with my cousin who is always on the road, I am more aware of the fact that too much of something is never good for you. When we got married, my husband and I made a pact that for four days out of the week we would shut off our cellphones, walk our dog and just be in the moment. We have done this consistently for over 2 years and it has become our sanctuary. Sometimes when the other needs time alone, they will walk the dog while the other lays in the hammock in the back yard. At first just walking the dog, or simply lying on a hammock was not easy. For something that seemed effortless, it required a lot of…effort. Over time being alone became something to look forward to rather than be afraid of.

Bianca Hernandez
10/16/2013 11:15:18 am

Luis’ point is that buying a phone to little kids make them stupid. It makes the kids stupid because they are losing respects to adults by not paying them attention. If you put a kid to choose between a book and a phone they might choose the phone because they will be able to play games and search the web but what they don’t know is that the phone won’t make them smarter than a book. For example there’s people that I see around on their phones and when they are being asked a question they don’t pay attention to much to the person that is asking them because they are so into their phones which is not respectful. Being on the phone can also cause accidents while driving that was one of Louise’s critics that why be on the phone and cause an accident when you can prevent it. There’s some people that can’t live without their phones and that’s bad because they are being addictive to it and if not good cause they like you having a disease.

Jose Gomez
10/16/2013 04:09:43 pm

Louis CK's view of the cell phones, is summed up pretty well according to how people used them in today's times. People rely on the cell for everything, and to many it is indispensable, ones accustomed to it. Also, he is right about how not to be alone, a person uses the social network pages to fill the emptiness of solitude. The point he touches, about the people, using their phones while driving is true. Because I notice it myself, and I've been close to being in accidents because of other people, that are using the phones, and do not keep their eyes on the road. Like Louis, I do enjoy being alone at times and am I ok with that. His criticism is very valid, and kids should not have a cell since it creates a lot of distractions. Also kids become unsocial, I mean that they hide behind the cell and do not know how to express themselves in person to person conversations. The satisfaction of the real, will never be matched from the use or interaction of media. I think that kids, get confused and never quite develop social skills when there is a cell involved.
The smart phones, have distractions beyond believe. An example, at one point, a restaurant owner I worked for. He said "I have the devil in my hands", I do not know how else to explain that quote any better then what he said. Everything is available at just a click away, and the innovation of the cell phones does not stop. At one point in the very near future, I believe that computers, will be used very little if any at all. I've had my cell phone, for about 8 years, and at times when I do not have it, I feel a part of me is missing. But at the same time since I did not have a cell till I was in my 20's. I do not think it would be too hard, to get use to just having a cell phone for talking only. Though the convenience of having internet in a cell is very beneficial. A few times, I have tried to be without the cell, but the urges are hard to resist, and just end up using it again.

Aaron Yim
10/20/2013 02:25:16 pm

Louis Ck’s argument about cell phone is having a cell phone can be addictive. He states that having a cell phone can use to get rid of the unwanted emotions by people’s response on social media. I disagree with his argument because just because he does it does not mean everyone does it. People use cell phones to do business work or to communicate to people when we are not home. His criticisms is not valid because there is not enough proof. His argument about the real is feeling the real emotions instead of false emotions through cell phones.
Sitting rather than jumping on the cell phone is really strange feeling because I am used to reply back to my friends as soon as possible. Since I did not jump at my cell phone I had anxiety to respond back quickly rather than taking my time or ignoring my text messages. I have not tried to distract myself from my Smartphone because I intend to look at it even though any notifications did not come.

Erika Cayabyab
10/21/2013 04:50:20 am

Louis CK was given the question whether or not he supports giving cell phones to his kids. Surprisingly, he disagreed. He strongly feels this way because he believes these cell phones are toxic especially for children. Having “The Real” experience is like conversing face-to-face with a person rather than communicating by other means such as the cell phone or laptop. Louis CK includes that these electronic devices don’t allow us to feel empathy or appreciation. This is true because when you are purposely mean to someone and say something mean to them in person, you will experience the hurt that person is feeling. But if you do this through the phone, a feeling of satisfaction will replace that guilt and thus not building the ability to undergo the proper emotions you need to feel.
Every time I decide to sit down and just allow myself to “let the sadness hit [me] naturally”, I feel everything Louis CK described. Although I’m not replacing this sadness with some satisfaction of texting someone, I begin to really appreciate the sadness. But in return, I get a feeling of happiness because I allowed myself to freely express deep emotions. I would rather feel sad than to constantly push away the sadness with my phone. Texting someone is easier than experiencing pain because relieving yourself from that pain will take time. Cell phones are fast and will catch up to your impatient needs.

Will Alfaro
10/22/2013 03:04:31 pm

Louis C.K's argument against cell phones is that they distract us from whats really happening, inside us and outside. I partially agree with Mr. C.K because while cell phones do distract us a great deal they also offer us assistance in many ways, whether its to check weather or maybe even upcoming appointments. Still, though, I understand completely where he's coming from, I walk around campus and see that many people are glued to there phones. I had a friend who would not take her face off her screen while on the bus so guys wouldn't talk to her. We use it as a wall most times because we don't want to deal with the "crap" this world has to offer. I don't believe thats a valid excuse though.
Much like the book "Do Androids dream...", we sometimes use these devices to dictate how we feel, like the Penfeild. I once went through a breakup and as "devastated" as I was I didn't want to think about it because of the negative emotions so I indulged into a marathon of Malcolm in the Middle to make me feel better, I used my iPhone to stream it via Netflix. It worked for about three episodes then I finally gave in and decided to feel what was really their, sadness. I cried knowing this person wasn't going to be there anymore. It was a long, miserable hour but after that I felt OK, I thought "how silly of me to cry" but these emotions have to be expressed or they will turn to something nastier. We want to instantly feel better so we turn to videos and music and never really experience "life" only what we think it is.
I've never rally tried "just sitting" I always have to be doing something, there will be times when I've been on my iPhone too long, or have been playing my PS3 for a while and my brain feels numb, like mush even. I like to read or what I do most of the time is run, I like to jog and listen as the cars go by, I'll catch bits and pieces of conversations, I'll wave hello to people or just smile and nod as people say "pick up those legs" or "get it man, get it!". I'll get to my destination and just watch traffic or walk along the streets, to me this is peaceful, this is how I disconnect from the "virtual" and go back to the "real". It's bad sometimes and dirty, but we can't escape that because online is no cleaner.

Edith P
10/23/2013 12:49:08 pm

Louis CK discusses how we tend to hide behind our cell phones in order to avoid feeling alone or as he refers to it “the forever empathy”. He also talks about how parents give their children cell phones as well. When the parents give cell phones to their children there is no eye contact when one tried to have a conversation with them. He also points out that there is no empathy built when a conversation is trying to be made. He brings valid points to his argument due to the fact that mostly everyone that owns a cell phone has become attached to it. The way his argument informs in our discussion about “the real” is that for the ones who own cell phones have become so attached to them. When we are using our cell phone is as if we are in another dimension and we block what is around us and aren’t fully aware about our surroundings.

Yes, I have tried sitting there rather than jumping on my cell phone. The experience is very uncomfortable and it made me feel weird to not have my phone in my hand. It isn’t that bad I mostly felt bored needed to distract myself in order to pass the time. Even by just sitting there doing nothing seemed that I had been sitting there for hours. I had tried to find a way to distract myself by looking around and by counting how many little holes were in the ceiling didn’t help. I also felt that I was being stared at and uncomfortable it was just an awkward feeling. At the end I ended up getting my cell phone out didn’t last very long without out it. Just having your cell phone out helps you get distracted easily. With the cell phone you can access the internet, different social media, and games. It is just something I am just use to having with me at all times.

10/24/2013 02:42:48 am

Louis CK’s argument is that he is against phones. He is against phones because they are a distraction for people, not only the phones are a distraction but they deprive you of feeling real emotions like the forever empty feeling. He also thinks that when people do not feel that empty feeling and feeling of sadness they do not have that moment of catharsis.
I agree with Louis CK’s argument of cell phones being bad for people. I think that many people spend quality time using cell phones, because they do not like the feeling of emptiness. Cell phones are a getaway of reality for many people because it can distract them with many different things like games, YouTube videos, music, texting, talking on the phone about unnecessary things because they fear of the forever empty feeling. People fail to have that feeling of feeling a lot better after being alone and thinking about the things they do not want to want to think about.
I like Louis CK’s argument, I also feel that is wrong to avoid real feelings, sometimes is more than okay to face real feelings like sadness because at the end of the day is life. It is okay to cry and feel sadness because after crying people will have moment that makes them feel better.
I think that his massage is informing us about what is the real and what is not real in a clear way, he doesn’t approve of cell phones simply because people is trying to get away of feeling real feelings or moments to avoid the “forever empty feeling”.
I have experienced just sitting down and feeling miserable. I was raced with a family of tough people who believe that people should not cry because at the end of the day it does not help solve problems. I also had that pressure that guys fee; that man should not cry. Well, in fact I had moments where something’s were too painful to avoid feeling and just sat there and cried. What I realized in this experiences is that it was okay to cry because after crying I felt better and relieved, I always recommend friends that is okay to cry and that if they feel hurt than they should cry. Sometimes when people do not want to feel real feeling they build up anger and that is bad.in my own experience I felt so much better after crying and letting grudges and anger out, I was okay after I did it.

10/24/2013 02:43:37 am

Louis CK’s argument is that he is against phones. He is against phones because they are a distraction for people, not only the phones are a distraction but they deprive you of feeling real emotions like the forever empty feeling. He also thinks that when people do not feel that empty feeling and feeling of sadness they do not have that moment of catharsis.
I agree with Louis CK’s argument of cell phones being bad for people. I think that many people spend quality time using cell phones, because they do not like the feeling of emptiness. Cell phones are a getaway of reality for many people because it can distract them with many different things like games, YouTube videos, music, texting, talking on the phone about unnecessary things because they fear of the forever empty feeling. People fail to have that feeling of feeling a lot better after being alone and thinking about the things they do not want to want to think about.
I like Louis CK’s argument, I also feel that is wrong to avoid real feelings, sometimes is more than okay to face real feelings like sadness because at the end of the day is life. It is okay to cry and feel sadness because after crying people will have moment that makes them feel better.
I think that his massage is informing us about what is the real and what is not real in a clear way, he doesn’t approve of cell phones simply because people is trying to get away of feeling real feelings or moments to avoid the “forever empty feeling”.
I have experienced just sitting down and feeling miserable. I was raced with a family of tough people who believe that people should not cry because at the end of the day it does not help solve problems. I also had that pressure that guys fee; that man should not cry. Well, in fact I had moments where something’s were too painful to avoid feeling and just sat there and cried. What I realized in this experiences is that it was okay to cry because after crying I felt better and relieved, I always recommend friends that is okay to cry and that if they feel hurt than they should cry. Sometimes when people do not want to feel real feeling they build up anger and that is bad.in my own experience I felt so much better after crying and letting grudges and anger out, I was okay after I did it.

Steven Diermissen
10/28/2013 03:03:42 am

Louis C.K. believes that the effects of cell phones on social behavior is negative. He criticizes how his children are pestering him to buy them a smartphone so they can be on the popular social networking sites and messaging applications. He believes that cell phones will affect their behavior when they need to speak to someone in person. He states how children need to see the reactions to the insults they tell others in order to develop the sense of empathy. They also do not develop the skills to interact in conversations. I somewhat agree with Louis C.K. about having conversations through technology, and is supported by the fact that I have never created any social networking profiles. I already have a problem socializing with other people. Having social networking profiles would make it worse.
Louis C.K. talks about how people utilize smartphones as a temporary escape from being with oneself. Cell phones also take away the ability to just sit and not do anything. He believes that leaves a negative psychological effect on people as they become dependent on needing to have someone to talk to. He also believes that people need to feel the sadness of being alone because it allows a person to experience joy later. This ties in to the class discussion about “The Real” as Louis C.K. believes that people will benefit more interacting in person rather than being behind the screen of a computer, phone, or tablet.
I have tried sitting without the use of my Android smartphone. It becomes very difficult to ignore not using it, but I eventually ignore it. I seem to be able to control my use of my phone more effectively than most people depending on the use of the device. I usually get recent news information for science and technology on my phone, listening to music streaming services, or looking at internet memes, but rarely for socializing with others. Eventually I look to see if any important notifications or emails have been received.

Jeobana Gutierrez
10/29/2013 12:01:42 pm

Louis CK points out that cell phone devices is a way for people to feel less "lonely". He argues that when someone is feeling lonely they immediately send a text message to someone to not feel lonely. He says that people avoid reality with this devices specially children. He says that we don't allow ourselves to feel a certain way because we immediately replace those feeling with satisfaction of texting someone. CK argues that children specially do not feel empathy for others nor for themselves when they text. He argues that being behind a screen kids feel free and more comfortable to insult others without any consequences.
I think his point is very true. We replace face-to-face interaction with modern technology devices in order to communicate with one and other. And is very true when someone feels lonely or is a certain situation we immediately rely on our phones to escape from this feeling. A conversation through text messaging is not the same as if it were face-to-face. I think people is missing out the essential part f experiencing gestures and human interaction by texting.
I have tried just sitting there and at times I feel weird. But eventually I get use to it. But I must admit that sever times I use my cellphone to avoid eye contact or to escape from an uncomfortable situation even when I am not using my cell phone. I think that we all have got so use to using or having our cell phones in our hands that when we don't have them we feel anxious. I think it is not a good thing that being young we are so addicted to technology and avoid real things in life to replace them with the satisfaction of technology.

Ashli Lilly
11/1/2013 09:49:59 am

In Louis CK’s argument against cell phones he believes that we utilize these devices so often in order to avoid the feeling of being alone and by doing so we neglect ourselves the opportunity to experience true, natural emotions and feelings. He also states that this is the reason he does not allow his children to own a cell phone and that he believes cell phones also interfere with humans, especially children’s, ability to empathize with other individuals. I think that he has a very valid argument in which I support. I believe that the increased use of electronic devices has decreased our desires to participate in more natural forms of communicating and existing amongst each other. I feel that Louis’s criticism for cellular phone usage is very valid as well as correct reflections of the negative impact simulated activities have on todays society. This clip, specifically Louis CK’s argument, relates to our class discussion on “the real” because Louis is referring to why “the real” is so important not to neglect. He is giving reasons as to why indulging in such a simulated culture is desensitizing us to what is necessary in order to have true and lasting connections with each other.

I may be the exception to the rule, however I actually have the exact opposite behavior from “fleeing to the cell phone”. I have such a busy lifestyle that in the moments of emotion, despite what the emotion may be, I value those times when I am able to just “feel”. I consider having available time in order to experience the variety of emotions, one of life’s beautiful luxuries, therefore when I have that feeling of “alone”, I participate in it actively on a level of total commitment. I do think that most people utilize the distractions offered by a smartphone for one simple fact that it brings a sense of separation to the current moment you are living in. Those distractions allow you to take your mind to any location, any fantasy or even just enjoy vicarious excitement channeled in the form of an immediate connection. Despite that connection being removed from a true physical connection.


Comments are closed.

    Prof. David Fulton

    I received my MA in English from CSU, Northridge and his .MFA in Creative Writing from CSU, Long Beach. I have  been teaching College English since 2004.. I am a published poet and was recently a Pushcart Prize finalist for my poem "Hubris" In addition to teaching,, I enjoy cooking, figuring out how to garden, going to the gym, researching Shakespeare, and watching MMA. 

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All